The University of Iowa


Our goal is to engage with Iowa and the world to broaden education, improve health, and enhance economic development.

  • Enhance the UI’s statewide visibility and increase access to UI expertise.
  • Create lifelong learning opportunities that broaden the UI’s reach across Iowa.
  • Create pathways for students to pursue health careers and remain in Iowa.
  • Enhance health partnerships.
  • Support the translation of intellectual work into applications to enhance economic development.
  • Create a model to engage the time and talents of alumni.
Annual Work Plan: 
Peter Damiano
Co-chair; Director, Public Policy Center; Professor, College of Dentistry
Teresa Mangum
Co-chair, Professor and Director, Obermann Center for Advanced Studies
Heather Mineart
Administrative Services Manager, Executive Assistant to the Vice President for Research; President Staff Council
Jeneane Beck
Assistant Vice President for External Relations, Office of Strategic Communications
Nic Benson
Director of Community Outreach, Provost's Office of Outreach & Engagement
Mercedes Bern-Klug
Associate Professor, School of Social Work
Jonathan Carlson
Professor, College of Law
Dan Matheson
Associate Professor of Instruction and Director, Sports and Recreation Management
Edith Parker
Dean, College of Public Health
Mirra Anson
Director, Academic Support and Retention
John Doershuk
State Archaeologist
David Gould
Educational Support Manager, Belin-Blank Center
Paul Thelen
Assistant Director, Waterman Nonprofit Resource Center
Anne Zalenski
Associate Dean, Distance Programs and Courses
Saba Ali
Professor and Associate Dean, College of Education
Matt Augeri
Director, Career Leadership Academy, Pomerantz Career Center
Kelley Drowne
Executive Director, Corporate and Foundation Relations (Tippie CoB)
David Hensley
Executive Director, Pappajohn Entrepreneurial Center
Nadine Petty
Executive Director, Center for Diversity and Enrichment
Heather Wilensky
Executive Director, Alumni Engagement, UI Center for Advancement
Richard Barajas
Director of Admissions, College of Pharmacy
Chuck Connerly
Professor and Director, Urban and Regional Planning
John Culshaw
University Librarian
David Cunning
Professor and Chair, Philosophy; Co-Chair, 2016-21 UI Strategic Plan Development Group
Laura McLeran
Senior Advisor to the President, Associate Vice President for External Relations
Larry Weber
Professor and Executive Associate Dean, College of Engineering
Julianna Lee
Assistant Director, Public Policy Center
David Cwiertny
Associate Professor, College of Engineering
Frederick Boehmke
Professor, Political Science
Emily Hughes
Professor and Associate Dean, College of Law
Lauren Lessing
Director, UI Stanley Museum of Art
Andy Winkelmann
Director, Educational Programming, UI Athletics

Work Group Feedback