Engagement

Our goal is to engage with Iowa and the world to broaden education, improve health, and enhance economic development.

  • Enhance the UI’s statewide visibility and increase access to UI expertise.
  • Create lifelong learning opportunities that broaden the UI’s reach across Iowa.
  • Create pathways for students to pursue health careers and remain in Iowa.
  • Enhance health partnerships.
  • Support the translation of intellectual work into applications to enhance economic development.
  • Create a model to engage the time and talents of alumni.
Annual Work Plan: 
Members: 
Peter Damiano
Co-chair; Director, Public Policy Center; Professor, College of Dentistry
peter-damiano@uiowa.edu
Sherry Watt
Co-chair; Professor, College of Education
sherry-watt@uiowa.edu
John Laverty
Senior Associate Director, Admissions (Past Staff Council President, Steering Committee)
john-laverty@uiowa.edu
Jeneane Beck
Assistant Vice President for External Relations, Office of Strategic Communications
jeneane-beck@uiowa.edu
Nic Benson
Director of Community Outreach, Provost's Office of Outreach & Engagement
nicholas-benson@uiowa.edu
Mercedes Bern-Klug
Associate Professor, School of Social Work
mercedes-bern-klug@uiowa.edu
Jonathan Carlson
Professor, College of Law
jonathan-c-carlson@uiowa.edu
Dan Matheson
Associate Professor of Instruction and Director, Sports and Recreation Management
daniel-matheson@uiowa.edu
Edith Parker
Dean, College of Public Health
edith-parker@uiowa.edu
Mirra Anson
Director, Academic Support and Retention
mirra-anson@uiowa.edu
John Doershuk
State Archaeologist
john-doershuk@uiowa.edu
David Gould
Educational Support Manager, Belin-Blank Center
david-gould@uiowa.edu
Paul Thelen
Assistant Director, Waterman Nonprofit Resource Center
paul-thelen@uiowa.edu
Anne Zalenski
Associate Dean, Distance Programs and Courses
anne-zalenski@uiowa.edu
Saba Ali
Professor and Associate Dean, College of Education
saba-ali@uiowa.edu
Matt Augeri
Director, Career Leadership Academy, Pomerantz Career Center
matthew-augeri@uiowa.edu
Kelley Drowne
Executive Director, Corporate and Foundation Relations (Tippie CoB)
kelley.drowne@foriowa.org
David Hensley
Executive Director, Pappajohn Entrepreneurial Center
david-hensley@uiowa.edu
Nadine Petty
Executive Director, Center for Diversity and Enrichment
nadine-petty@uiowa.edu
Heather Wilensky
Executive Director, Alumni Engagement, UI Center for Advancement
heather-wilensky@uiowa.edu
Richard Barajas
Director of Admissions, College of Pharmacy
richard-barajas@uiowa.edu
Chuck Connerly
Professor and Director, Urban and Regional Planning
charles-connerly@uiowa.edu
John Culshaw
University Librarian
john-culshaw@uiowa.edu
David Cunning
Professor and Chair, Philosophy; Co-Chair, 2016-21 UI Strategic Plan Development Group
david-cunning@uiowa.edu
Laura McLeran
Senior Advisor to the President, Associate Vice President for External Relations
laura-mcleran@uiowa.edu
Larry Weber
Professor and Executive Associate Dean, College of Engineering
larry-weber@uiowa.edu
David Cwiertny
Associate Professor, College of Engineering
david-cwiertny@uiowa.edu

Work Group Feedback