The Path Forward – Strategy Implementation Team met on Friday, June 10, 2016 at 8:00 a.m. in room B5 JH.  Team members in attendance were:  Barry Butler, Rod Lehnertz, Bruce Harreld, Tom Rocklin, Carroll Reasoner, Peter Snyder, Monica Madura, Jacob Simpson, Samantha Lange, Keith Carter, Christina Bohannan, Cornelia Lang, Frank Durham, Sherry Watts, Erin Brothers and Ted Yanecek.  Also in attendance were Diane Slusarski and John Keller.

The minutes of the May 3, 2016 meeting were distributed along with the June 10 meeting agenda.

Barry reviewed recent activities of SIT 1: National Research Standing.  Two sub-groups have been formed: (1) Collaborations and Structures (Cori Peek-Asa, Chair) and (2) Research and Scholarship Incentives and Assessment Metrics (Chris Morphew, Chair).    John Keller reported on activities of SIT 2: URM Participation in Graduate/Professional Programs.  This team is taking an inventory of programs currently in place on campus as well as reviewing best practices from other CIC institutions.  Tom Rockin reviewed activities of SIT 3: Undergraduate Academic Experience.  Tom indicated the Strategic Plan Development Group (SPDG) is developing a report related to “student success” and that the SPDG report is likely to highlight many issues that will be of interest to SIT-3.  There was discussion of activities and subject matter addressed during the 3-day “On Iowa” program and the “Success at Iowa” on-line program.  Suggestions for additional programming were discussed as well as the need for similar sorts of programming (or “on-boarding”) for new graduate students at UI.  There was also discussion of the use/value of the Winter term (“J-term” or January term).  Barry reported briefly on SIT 4: Campus Inclusion/Climate

Other issues - Samantha Lange brought up the subject of the status of the drafting of a UI policy on capacity to consent.  Members of the SIT familiar with on-going campus efforts on this topic indicated a campus committee had been formed to address this issue.  Carroll Reasoner listed the campus offices that are represented on this committee.

The Team meeting adjourned at 9:10.