The Path Forward–Operations Team (OT) met at 9:25 a.m. Thursday, March 23, 2017, in the Lucas-Dodge Room (#256) of the Iowa Memorial Union. Team members in attendance were: Rod Lehnertz, Bruce Harreld, Laura McLeran, Tom Rocklin, Lena Hill, Georgina Dodge, Erin Brothers, Sarah Vigmostad, John Laverty, Cheryl Reardon, Steve McGuire, Steve Fleagle, Grant Jerkovich, Andrew Namanny, Carroll Reasoner, Don Guckert, Ron Weigel, Tiffani Shaw, Michael Hesseltine, Peter Matthes, and Ted Yanecek. Diane Slusarski and members of the Student Mental Health Subcommittee were also in attendance (Mirra Anson, Maggie Moore, Todd Patterson, Jane Caton, Barry Schreier). 

The minutes of the Feb. 14, 2017, meeting were distributed along with the meeting agenda.

Rod Lehnertz recognized Steve McGuire, who introduced members of the Student Mental Health subcommittee. The subcommittee then presented its report and recommendations to the OT.

The recommendations are:

  1. Form a Student Mental Health Advisory Team.
  2. Student Mental Health Resiliency—create consistent messaging throughout first-year programs and initiatives, in addition to a resiliency coaching model within Academic Support and Retention and Student Care and Assistance.
  3. Provide interactive and consistent training for faculty and staff members.

Next Steps for the subcommittee include identifying “best practices” and meeting with university leaders (VPs and President Harreld) to review their recommendations.

The OT next discussed the Strategic Initiative Funding process and the role of the Path Forward teams. It was noted that many of the recommendations emanating from OT subcommittees do not require additional funding.

It was suggested that some sort of post-recommendation follow-up process be established to ensure accountability. Establishing metrics or other measurement tools with respect to OT recommendations should become a part of the process.

The team meeting adjourned at 10:47 a.m.