Research and Discovery

Our goal is to perform high-impact research.

  • We will create a university ecosystem that enables the UI to be an international leader in confronting the grand challenges of the 21st century.
  • Recruit and retain faculty and staff who possess the broad diversity essential to our research mission.
  • Foster a campus culture in which UI faculty, students, and staff can maximize their research productivity.
Annual Work Plan: 
Members: 
Ted Abel
Co-chair; Professor, Physiology
ted-abel@uiowa.edu
Corinne Peek-Asa
Co-chair; Professor, Occupational and Environmental Health (College of Public Health)
corinne-peek-asa@uiowa.edu
Peter Snyder
Professor, Cardiology (Past Faculty Senate President, Steering Committee)
peter-snyder@uiowa.edu
Erin Brothers
Sponsored Programs
erin-brothers@uiowa.edu
Joe Kearney
Professor, Computer Science
joe-kearney@uiowa.edu
Bob Kirby
Associate Director, Honors Program
bob-kirby@uiowa.edu
Rebekah Kowal
Professor, Dance
rebekah-kowal@uiowa.edu
Amy Lee
Professor, Physiology
amy-lee@uiowa.edu
Karim Abdel-Malek
Professor, College of Engineering
karim-abdel-malek@uiowa.edu
Peggy Nopoulos
Professor, Psychiatry
peggy-nopoulos@uiowa.edu
Ann Ricketts
Senior Assistant Vice President for Research
ann-ricketts@uiowa.edu
Diane Slusarski
Professor and Department Chair, Biology
diane-slusarski@uiowa.edu
Milan Sonka
Professor and Associate Dean, College of Engineering
milan-sonka@uiowa.edu
Eric Tate
Associate Professor, Geographical and Sustainability Sciences
eric-tate@uiowa.edu

Work Group Feedback