The University of Iowa

Student Success

Our goal is to provide a transformative educational experience that educates all UI students to be engaged citizens.

  • Create a more inclusive campus culture.
  • Prepare students to be experts in their disciplines and leaders in their fields.
  • Optimize campus environments to support holistic student success.
  • Invest in graduate and professional student support.
  • Become a Research I institution of choice for undergraduate students aspiring to pursue graduate or professional education.
Annual Work Plan: 
Members: 
Sarah Hansen
Vice President for Student Life
sarah-hansen@uiowa.edu
Cornelia Lang
Co-chair; Associate Professor and Associate Chair, Department of Physics & Astronomy, CLAS
cornelia-lang@uiowa.edu
Renee Cole
Professor, Chemistry
renee-cole@uiowa.edu
Charlotte Brown
Center for Student Involvement & Leadership
charlotte-brown@uiowa.edu
Jean Florman
Director, Office of Teaching, Learning and Technology Center for Teaching
jean-florman@uiowa.edu
Kathy Hall
Senior Director, Office of Academic Programs and Student Development (CLAS)
kathryn-hall@uiowa.edu
Erin Irish
Associate Professor, Biology
erin-irish@uiowa.edu
Elizabeth Lara
Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Director, Graduate College
elizabeth-lara@uiowa.edu
Cody Pritchard
TRIO Student Support Services, Center for Diversity & Enrichment
cody-pritchard@uiowa.edu
Maureen Schafer
Senior Associate Director, Academic Advising Center
maureen-schafer@uiowa.edu
Brenda Ulin
ITS, Administrative Information Systems
brenda-ulin@uiowa.edu
Shaun Vecera
Professor, Department of Psychological & Brain Sciences, CLAS
shaun-vecera@uiowa.edu
Anne Sparks
Academic Affairs Coordinator, Graduate College
anne-sparks@uiowa.edu
Angi McKie
Pomerantz Career Center
angi-mckie@uiowa.edu
Andrew Beckett
Associate Dean, University College
andrew-beckett@uiowa.edu
Tanya Uden-Holman
Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education and Dean of University College
tanya-uden-holman@uiowa.edu
Regan Smock
UISG Representative
regan-smock@uiowa.edu
Thomas Pak
GPSG Representative
thomas-pak@uiowa.edu
Lori Adams
Associate Professor of Instruction, Biology
lori-adams@uiowa.edu
Lynn Barker
UI Center for Advancement
lynn.barker@foriowa.org
Anna Flaming
Associate Director, Office of Teaching, Learning & Technology, Center for Teaching
anna-flaming@uiowa.edu
Bob Kirby
Director, Iowa Center for Research by Undergraduates
bob-kirby@uiowa.edu
Dana Thomann
Lecturer, Rhetoric
dana-thomann@uiowa.edu
Stephanie Preschel
Associate Director, Academic Support & Retention
stephanie-preschel@uiowa.edu
Kristine Munoz
Professor, Communication Studies
kristine-fitch@uiowa.edu

Work Group Feedback